RBC Ventures

Canadian entrepreneurs don't understand how business structure affects their taxes, according to a new survey from Ownr

TORONTO, ON, April 17 2019 — Many Canadian entrepreneurs and small business owners don’t understand how their business structure can impact the tax-filing process and many are leaving money on the table according to a new survey by Ownr, an online platform that makes it simple, convenient, and affordable for small business owners to register or incorporate their businesses and build their brands.

Two-thirds (66%) of the registered business owners surveyed not only found the process of filing their company taxes to be confusing, but also admitted they haven’t taken advantage of any applicable tax benefits including the Small Business Tax Deduction, tax deferral, or income splitting.

“It’s no surprise that many small business owners aren’t applying for the available tax benefits when so many of them find the process of filing their taxes complicated in the first place,” said Shadi McIsaac, co-founder at Ownr. “As we approach the April 30th deadline for filing personal income tax returns, it’s important for business owners to understand the implications of how their business structure might impact their return. For business owners focused on growing their companies, this could lead to a lot of extra money in the bank if they know how to make use of Canada’s many small business tax incentives.”

According to the survey results, it would also appear that many Canadians are unsure how the structure of their business—whether it is registered as a sole proprietorship or corporation—affects their taxes, despite the fact that these distinctions can result in highly varied annual tax savings. Approximately one in four (26%) registered business owners surveyed confirm they have little to no understanding of how registering or incorporating their business affects their taxes.

largeImage

“Filing business taxes for the first time can be difficult and even scary, which is why it’s important to educate yourself about how your business structure affects your taxes, long before you even choose to register or incorporate,” said Vivian Kaye, Ownr user and founder of KinkyCurlyYaki. “From my perspective, understanding the difference between sole proprietorship and incorporation can make a world of difference when it comes to your personal finances and tax savings over time. For instance, sole proprietorship would have put me in a much higher tax bracket. Incorporating, however, kept me in a more manageable bracket, one that came with additional flexibility when setting my financial year, which is always important for a small business. Filing your taxes doesn’t need to be hard, but education is the only way to make them easy.”

Ownr went on to find that from among those surveyed, Canadians with businesses they have yet to register as a sole proprietorship or to incorporate are even more unlikely to understand the taxation process than registered business owners. Of non-registered business owners surveyed, 71% expect the tax filing process to be confusing, half (50%) are unfamiliar with any available tax benefits, and two-thirds (66%) are unsure if running a registered business will impact their personal finances.

To learn more about Ownr, visit ownr.co

Survey Methodology

Ownr examined responses from 580 entrepreneurs and small business owners, those with less than 99 employees, who are users of Ownr, across Ontario, Alberta and British Columbia to an online survey regarding attitudes toward and knowledge of business structure, in particular, how business structure has the potential to affect taxes. The survey was issued via email to Canadians who had opted in to receive communications from Ownr.

About Ownr

Ownr, owned and operated by RBC Ventures Inc., is an online platform that makes it simple, convenient, and affordable for Canadians to register or incorporate their businesses and build their brands. Ownr has provided its business registration and logo creation platform to over 6,000 entrepreneurs to date, saving them hundreds of dollars in fees typically charged by lawyers, accountants, and designers for such services. Ownr is based in Toronto, and its registration services are currently available in Ontario, British Columbia, and Alberta.

img

RBC Ventures

Les entrepreneurs canadiens ne comprennent pas l’incidence de la structure juridique de leur entreprise sur leurs impôts, selon un nouveau sondage d’Ownr

TORONTO, Ontario, le 17 avril 2019 — Un grand nombre d’entrepreneurs et de propriétaires de petite entreprise canadiens ne comprennent pas quelle incidence leur structure juridique d’entreprise peut avoir sur leur déclaration de revenus, et nombre d’entre eux ne profitent pas des avantages auxquels ils ont droit, selon un nouveau sondage d’Ownr, plateforme en ligne qui offre aux propriétaires de petite entreprise des moyens simples, pratiques et abordables d’enregistrer leur entreprise ou de la constituer en société, et de créer leur marque.

Les deux tiers (66 %) des propriétaires d’entreprise enregistrée sondés, en plus de trouver complexe le processus de déclaration de revenus de leur entreprise, admettent qu’ils ne se sont prévalus d’aucun des avantages fiscaux auxquels ils sont admissibles, notamment la déduction fiscale accordée aux petites entreprises, le report d’imposition et le fractionnement du revenu.

« Il n’est pas étonnant de constater qu’un grand nombre de propriétaires de petite entreprise ne se prévalent pas des avantages fiscaux auxquels ils ont droit, puisqu’ils sont très nombreux à trouver complexe le processus de déclaration de leurs revenus, a déclaré Shadi McIsaac, cofondatrice d’Ownr. À l’approche du 30 avril, date limite de production des déclarations de revenus de particulier, il est important pour les propriétaires d’entreprise de comprendre l’incidence que peut avoir la structure juridique de leur entreprise sur leur déclaration. Savoir comment utiliser les nombreux incitatifs fiscaux du gouvernement fédéral conçus pour les petites entreprises peut permettre aux propriétaires visant la croissance de dégager d’importantes liquidités. »

Selon les résultats du sondage, il semble également que nombre de Canadiens ignorent l’incidence de la structure juridique de leur entreprise — enregistrée en tant qu’entreprise individuelle ou constituée en société — sur leurs impôts, et ce, malgré le fait que cette distinction peut se traduire par de grands écarts au chapitre des économies d’impôt annuelles. Près d’un propriétaire d’entreprise enregistrée sur quatre (26 %) a affirmé ne comprendre que peu — ou pas du tout — l’incidence de l’enregistrement ou de la constitution en société de son entreprise sur l’impôt à payer.

largeImage

« Produire une déclaration de revenus d’entreprise pour la première fois peut être difficile, et même un peu angoissant ; c’est pourquoi il est essentiel de se renseigner sur l’incidence de la structure juridique de l’entreprise sur les impôts, et cela, bien avant de choisir d’enregistrer l’entreprise ou de la constituer en société, a déclaré Vivian Kaye, utilisatrice d’Ownr et fondatrice de KinkyCurlyYaki. À mon avis, comprendre la différence entre l’entreprise individuelle et l’entreprise constituée en société peut, à long terme, faire une énorme différence sur le plan des finances personnelles et des économies d’impôt. Par exemple, si j’avais opté pour une structure d’entreprise individuelle, je me situerais dans une tranche d’imposition nettement supérieure. Constituer mon entreprise en société m’a permis de me situer dans une tranche d’imposition plus avantageuse et de profiter d’une souplesse accrue dans la planification de mon exercice financier — ce qui est toujours important pour une petite entreprise. Bien se renseigner est la seule façon de simplifier la production de votre déclaration de revenus. »

En outre, selon le sondage d’Ownr, les Canadiens qui n’ont pas enregistré leur entreprise en tant qu’entreprise individuelle ou constitué celle-ci en société sont encore moins nombreux à comprendre le processus d’imposition que les propriétaires d’entreprise enregistrée. Parmi les propriétaires d’entreprise non enregistrée sondés, 71 % s’attendent à ce que le processus de déclaration de revenus soit complexe, la moitié (50 %) ne connaissent pas bien les avantages fiscaux auxquels ils ont droit, et les deux tiers (66 %) ignorent si exploiter une entreprise enregistrée aura une incidence sur leurs finances personnelles.

Pour en savoir plus sur Ownr, allez à ownr.co.

Méthodologie du sondage

Ownr a analysé les réponses de 580 entrepreneurs et propriétaires de petite entreprise comptant moins de 99 employés et utilisateurs d’Ownr en Ontario, en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique à un sondage en ligne portant sur leurs attitudes à l’égard des structures juridiques d’entreprise et leurs connaissances en la matière, en particulier l’incidence de celles-ci sur les impôts. Le sondage a été transmis par courriel aux Canadiens ayant consenti à recevoir des communications d’Ownr.

Ownr

Ownr, détenue et exploitée par RBC Projet Entreprise inc., est une plateforme en ligne qui offre aux Canadiens des moyens simples, pratiques et abordables d’enregistrer leur entreprise ou de la constituer en société, et de créer leur marque. À ce jour, Ownr a mis sa plateforme d’enregistrement d’entreprise et de création de logos à la disposition de plus de 5 000 entrepreneurs, leur faisant ainsi épargner des centaines de dollars en honoraires qu’ils auraient dû autrement verser à des avocats, des comptables et des concepteurs en contrepartie de ces services. Établie à Toronto, Ownr offre actuellement son service d’enregistrement en Ontario, en Colombie-Britannique et en Alberta.