Making a smooth-as-butter transition to RBC Ventures | RBC Ventures

Making a smooth-as-butter transition to RBC Ventures

I’m Derek Szeto, the founder of Butter - a hub for your memberships and subscriptions.

I’ve been an entrepreneur for most of my life. I started my first company, RedFlagDeals, when I was in my final year of high school. It was never intended to be a business, but I was passionate about deals and fortunate enough to find a business model that created value for both consumers and merchants. Ten years later, I sold the company to Yellow Pages and continued on to become a co-founder of Wirkn, a job search and recruitment platform. Now, I’m here at RBC Ventures embarking on a new journey with Butter.

It’s probably no surprise that I have many subscriptions myself, and unlike some friends who were using spreadsheets, I had no way to manage them. We took a problem I had, and thought: why not create a subscription hub where consumers can manage all their subscriptions in one place? And that’s how we came up with the idea for Butter.

We, the Butter team, fundamentally believe that subscriptions are changing the traditional consumer purchasing and consumption model, and this will only accelerate as new types of subscriptions we have not even yet conceived come to market. We constantly ask ourselves how we can create a product for that world that is be both useful for consumers and makes their wallets happy.

largeImage

(L-R) Derek Szeto, Vinny Liu and Steve Evans

After joining RBC Ventures, my goal was to get a product out on the market as quickly as possible. Once we come up with a solution that we think users will love, RBC Ventures is focused on getting a minimum lovable product (MLP) out to the market fast and then iterating continuously to make the product better. It’s never once and done.

When it came time to build, I was able to bring in some great partners, including Steve Evans and Vinny Liu, to work on Butter with me. We had to change the original vision of Butter since including all the components we originally envisioned would have held us back from getting a product to market in a timely manner. I do think we made the right tradeoffs, and in the end, we were able to launch Butter four months after I joined RBC Ventures - which I’m told is not a typical timeframe for a bank.

A lot of people ask me why I would work for RBC (a bank!). I joined RBC Ventures because I was impressed by RBC’s foresight and commitment to invest ahead of the curve. I also love a challenge and saw this as an opportunity to use my previous experience as an entrepreneur to contribute to a bigger vision. While I continue to learn new things every day from being surrounded by so many smart people with diverse backgrounds, I am excited that I also get the opportunity to play a mentorship role to many other Imagineers at RBC Ventures.

During the creation of Butter, RBC Ventures has proven to be a huge accelerator as we deliver our ideas to critical mass. RBC Ventures is a progressive, forward thinking group powered by smart and driven individuals who have come together to help Butter become a reality.

So what does the future look like for Butter? This is just the beginning! We have big plans to make Butter better for our users – stay tuned!

https://butter.link/rbcventures

img

Ma transition vers RBC Projet Entreprise – Faire son beurre de la créativité | RBC Ventures

Ma transition vers RBC Projet Entreprise – Faire son beurre de la créativité

Je m’appelle Derek Szeto et je suis le fondateur de Butter, une plateforme de centralisation des abonnements.

J’ai consacré la majorité de ma vie à l’entrepreneuriat. J’ai démarré ma première entreprise, RedFlagDeals, durant ma dernière année d’études secondaires. Ce n’était pas mon objectif d’en faire une entreprise, mais je me passionnais pour les aubaines et j’ai eu la chance de trouver un modèle d’affaires qui créait de la valeur pour les consommateurs comme pour les commerçants. Dix ans plus tard, j’ai vendu l’entreprise à Pages Jaunes et je suis devenu cofondateur de Wirkn, une plateforme de recherche d’emploi et de recrutement. Maintenant, j’amorce un nouveau parcours à RBC Projet Entreprise avec Butter.

Vous ne serez probablement pas surpris d’apprendre que j’ai moi-même de nombreux abonnements, et contrairement à certains de mes amis qui utilisaient des feuilles de calcul, je n’avais pas de moyen de les gérer. En partant de ce besoin, nous avons imaginé une plateforme où les consommateurs pourraient gérer tous leurs abonnements à un seul endroit. C’est ainsi que nous avons eu l’idée de Butter.

L’équipe de Butter a la conviction fondamentale que les abonnements transforment le modèle traditionnel d’achat et de consommation, et que cette transformation s’accélérera à mesure que de nouveaux types d’abonnements arrivent sur le marché. Nous nous demandons constamment comment nous pouvons créer un produit qui sera utile pour les consommateurs et leur permettra d’économiser dans cette nouvelle ère.

largeImage

(de g. à d.) Derek Szeto, Vinny Liu et Steve Evans

Après m’être joint à RBC Projet Entreprise, mon objectif était de lancer un produit sur le marché le plus rapidement possible. Une fois trouvée une solution susceptible de plaire aux utilisateurs, RBC Projet Entreprise s’efforce de lancer rapidement un produit adorable minimal avant de procéder à des itérations pour améliorer le produit. Ce n’est jamais terminé une fois pour toutes.

Pour développer le produit, j’ai pu faire appel à d’excellents partenaires, comme Steve Evans et Vinny Liu. Nous avons dû modifier notre vision initiale de Butter, puisque nous n’aurions pas pu le lancer assez rapidement si nous y avions intégré toutes les composantes envisagées. Je crois que nous avons fait les bons compromis, et nous avons réussi à lancer Butter quatre mois après mon arrivée à RBC Projet Entreprise – un délai inhabituel pour une banque, paraît-il.

On me demande souvent pourquoi j’ai choisi de travailler à RBC (une banque !). Je me suis joint à RBC Projet Entreprise parce que j’étais impressionné par la vision de RBC et par son engagement à investir dans l’innovation. De plus, j’aime relever des défis et j’y voyais une occasion d’utiliser mon expérience d’entrepreneur pour contribuer à un projet plus vaste. Je continue d’apprendre de nouvelles choses chaque jour en côtoyant un si grand nombre de personnes brillantes aux antécédents diversifiés. J’ai aussi l’occasion de jouer un rôle de mentor auprès de nombreux autres concepteurs-ressources à RBC Projet Entreprise, ce qui me ravit.

Durant la création de Butter, RBC Projet Entreprise s’est avéré un accélérateur très efficace pour nous permettre de présenter le résultat de nos idées à une masse critique d’utilisateurs. RBC Projet Entreprise est un groupe progressiste et visionnaire, mené par des personnes intelligentes et motivées qui ont conjugué leurs efforts pour contribuer à faire de Butter une réalité.

À quoi ressemblera l’avenir de Butter ? Vous n’avez rien vu encore ! Nous avons des plans ambitieux en vue d’améliorer Butter pour les utilisateurs ; restez à l’affût !

https://butter.link/rbcventures